bradford photo bradford photo bradford photo


The Bradford Conservation Commission (BCC) was officially established in 1990, when its first set of by-laws were approved by the Bradford Selectboard. This 9-member board is made up of community volunteers who serve for 3-year terms. The BCC meets at the Bradford Academy at 6:30 pm on the first and third Wednesdays of each month, and all meetings are open to the public.

According to VT Statute, the functions of the BCC are to:

  • INVENTORY the Town’s natural resources
  • CONSERVE forest land and farm land, either through purchase or by assisting private landowners to conserve their own lands
  • MANAGE town-owned conserved lands through active stewardship
  • REPRESENT the public’s interest with regard to protecting natural and social resources and make recommendations to the Selectboard and Planning Commission
  • EDUCATE and INFORM the public regarding issues that have an impact on natural and social resources

The Committees

The BCC has 3 standing committees that work to carry out its functions, plus temporary committees are established to complete short-term projects as they arise. All committees are made up of BCC members and interested individuals from the community.

  • CONSERVATION FUND COMMITTEE raises funds from land conservation projects; (co-chaired by Nancy Jones & Jenny Copeland)
  • STEWARDSHIP COMMITTEE coordinates volunteers to construct and maintain trails on the Town-owned 443-acre Wrights MT land; (led by Gary Tillotson, Tom Gray & Amy Sherman)
  • ENERGY COMMITTEE promotes energy-efficiency through an annual Local Energy Alternatives Festival and through energy audits of public buildings. (Chaired by Ed Wendell)

Committee Members

Nancy Jones, ChairEd Wendell, TreasurerTom Gray
Gary TillotsonMonique PriestleyBarbara Kulzyck
Sandy Price